Director’s Profile

Seamus Cornelius – Non-Executive Chairman

Seamus CorneliusAppointed on 8 February 2013

Mr Cornelius brings 21 years of corporate experience in both legal and commercial negotiations. Mr Cornelius has been based in Shanghai and Beijing since 1993 where he has been living and working as a corporate lawyer. From 2000 to 2011 Mr Cornelius was an international partner with one of Australia’s leading law firms and specialised in dealing with cross border investments, particularly in the energy and resource sectors. Mr Cornelius has for many years advised large international companies on their investments in China and in recent years advised Chinese state owned entities on their investments in natural resource projects outside China, including Australia. Mr Cornelius was Vice Chairman of Austcham Shanghai from 2008 to 2010 and has been the Chairman of Buxton Resources Ltd (BUX) since 2010 as well as the Chairman of Montezuma Mining Company Ltd (MZM) since 2011.

Stuart Fogarty – Managing Director

Appointed on 21 October 2013 Mr Fogarty has over 19 years of exploration experience with BHP Billiton and Western Mining Corporation. Until recently, he was BHP’s Senior Exploration Manager for North and South America. Mr Fogarty has a very strong background in nickel exploration, having commenced his career at Kambalda Nickel in 1994. He has held senior roles with BHP including Senior Geoscientist for nickel exploration in the Leinster and Mt Keith region, Project Manager WA Nickel Brownfields and Regional Manager Australia – Asia where he was responsible for a $100 million per annum exploration budget.


Heath Hellewell – Non-Executive Director

140108 Heath Hellewell Corporate PhotoAppointed on 18 November 2014

Heath is an exploration geologist with over 20 years of experience in gold, base metals and diamond exploration predominantly in Australia and West Africa. Heath graduated from Curtin University with an Honours Degree in Geology and is a member of the Australian Institute of Geoscientists.  Heath has previously held senior exploration positions with a number of successful mining and exploration groups including DeBeers Australia Pty Ltd and Resolute Mining Limited. Heath joined Independence Group NL in 2000 prior to the Company’s IPO and was part of the team that identified and acquired the Tropicana project area, eventually leading to the discovery of the Tropicana and Havana gold deposits which are now subject to a production joint venture with Anglo Ashanti Australia Ltd. Heath ultimately rose to the position of Exploration Manager at Independence Group. Most recently Heath was the co-founding Executive Director of Doray Minerals Limited, where he was responsible for the Company’s exploration and new business activities. Following the discovery of the Andy Well gold deposits in 2010, Doray Minerals was named “Gold Explorer of the Year” in 2011 by The Gold Mining Journal and in 2014 Heath was the co-winner of the prestigious “Prospector of the Year” award, presented by the Association of Mining and Exploration Companies. Heath is currently an independent Non-Executive Director of Core Exploration Ltd (ASX: CXO).